Phytobiomes is a newly coined term that describes the interactive associations of plants with communities of organisms including microorganisms, fungi, insects, invertebrates etc. and their environment. Research has shown that interactions within phytobiomes have profound effects on soil, plant and agroecosystem health and production. Thus knowledge of the phytobiomes network can provide valuable insight for the development of new tools for agroecosystem management.

A systems-level understanding of phytobiomes will enable agriculture sustainability and productivity to meet global demands while minimizing environment impacts. The conference agenda will focus on the progress and prospects of Crops-Arthropods and Microorganisms interactions, for the development of new tools and approaches, strengthening the connection between research and stakeholders to address current applications, bottlenecks and further opportunities.

The conference will take place in Thessaloniki. Thessaloniki is the second-largest city and port of Greece, located on the shore of the Thermaic Gulf. The city has a very rich history extending from prehistoric era to ancient Greece, Roman, and Byzantine till the present.  A number of archeological sites, monuments and museums are accessible in walking scenic tours. More information can be found at Thessaloniki’s seafront has always been one of the most frequented places, both by tourists and locals. The magnificent view of the sea and of the Olympus Mountain is captivating.

We are looking forward to seeing you, in Thessaloniki


On behalf of the Organizing Committee              

Photini Mylona                                                                                                 Kalliope Papadopoulou

Chair                                                                                                                      Co-Chair


Alison Bennett (Oregon State Univ, USA)

Arjen Biere (NIOO-KNAW, Wageningen, NL)

Enric Frago (Univ Montpellier, FR)

Thure Hauser (Univ Copenhagen, DK)

Richard Meadow (NMBU, As, NO)

Maria Jose Pozo (CSIC, Granada, ES)

Carolin Schneider (INOQ, Schnega, DE)